10 Pasta Sauce Recipes to Make When You’re Bored of the Classic Marinara

By: Neda Ahmed

Do you remember the Sahel and Sokhna afternoons of salata, macrona and panne? Macrona and panne and panne and macrona, a duo that never failed, yes? The pasta would usually be dipped in juicy marinara sauce, so red that it was delicious by looks. However, I bet that we all had enough red to last us a lifetime, yes? We compiled this list of other sauces you can make at home with ingredients that are commonly found, so no, you don’t need a thousand pound trip to Gourmet. You’re welcome in advance, from one broke die-hard teen foodie to another.

  1. Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

A vegetarian option that’s quite nutritious, to say the least. It may require a trip to the nuts shop, but it’s worth it! Click here for the recipe.

  1. All-American Cheeseburger Pasta Sauce

Burgers might be the best thing we got out of America, honestly. This’ll probably not require a trip to the supermarket, and if it did, most ingredients are normal one! You won’t need laban 3asfoor, no worries. Recipe here!

  1. Creamy and Crispy Mushrooms Pasta Sauce

It’s the mushroom for me! This recipe may require you a tiny trip to the nuts shop as well, or you can choose to not add nuts, your call!. Click here for the recipe

  1. Brown Butter, Whole Lemon and Parmesan Pasta Sauce

A quickie that doesn’t require more than 30 minutes. Bon appetit! Click here!

  1. Carrot Top and Pumpkin Seeds Pesto Sauce

The carrot tops and pumpkin seeds are things we usually throw away, but they seem perfectly edible in this lovely sauce

  1. Vegetable Bolognese

I need someone of enough energy to come cook me these lovelies. It’s a paid, full-time job, send your resume to iamsolazy@help.com. Anyway, check out the recipe here.

  1. Alfredo Sauce

It’s a classic. It also gives me flashbacks to the times I’ll spend 15 minutes browsing the menu only to order Alfredo Pasta. Indecisive girl gang, where are you at? Click here for the lovely 20-minute recipe!

  1. Lemon Butter Sauce

So far, this is my favourite on the list. Not that I can cook to save my life, but a girl can dream. Recipe is here.

  1. Carbonara Sauce

This one is pretty basic but absolutely iconic if you’re having a lonely (and hungry) night. Click here for the recipe.

  1. Spinach Pesto Sauce

Hear me out, I, under no circumstances, am a consumer of spinach. However, I’ll make an exception for Spinach Pesto Pasta because, honestly, I never had something as good before. Spinach Pesto Pasta, would you please be my valentine? Click here for the recipe.

Now, excuse me for cutting this short, but I have a dying urge to spend tonight in my kitchen.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.